Sacramento Kings
Sacramento Kings

Sacramento Kings

Get ready to enjoy the best Sacramento Kings betting odds and live basketball betting action here at Betmania, your home for the best NBA betting experience online. Register now to receive amazing bonuses on your deposit and reloads.

Sacramento Kings Team History

One of the oldest continuously operating pro basketball teams in the country, the Sacramento Kings are the result of several relocations and re-brandings. Founded in 1923 as a semi-professional team in Rochester, New York, as the Rochester Seagrams, the franchise joined the National Basketball League in 1945 as the Rochester Royals and would win the league championship in their first year as a member. The Royals would later be part of the merger between the NBL and the Basketball Association of America in 1948. They would eventually leave for the larger market of Cincinnati in 1957 as the Cincinnati Royals. The team moved once again in 1972, leaving Cincinnati and moving further west to become the Kansas City-Omaha Kings, initially splitting home games between Kansas City, Missouri, and Omaha, Nebraska. In 1977, the team became the Kansas City Kings after deciding to no longer play home games in Omaha. The team moved one last time in 1985 to Sacramento, where they have stayed ever since.

Sacramento Kings Championships

Shortly after joining the NBA, the Rochester Royals made it to their first NBA Finals in 1951, where they would win in seven games over the New York Knicks, the first BAA or NBA Finals that required a Game Seven. In the 1960s, the team, now called the Cincinnati Royals, was one of the more dominant teams in the league. Led by Oscar Robertson and Jerry Lucas, they were never able to make it back to the Finals, due in part to their tough division which was dominated by the Boston Celtics dynasty. 

After moving to Kansas City, the team, now named the Kings, could not find championship success even with star Nate Archibald leading the way. In Sacramento, the Kings enjoyed success in the late 1990s and early 2000s with the arrivals of Jason Williams, Vlade Divac and Chris Webber, earning the Kings two division titles in 2002 and 2003 but no trips to the NBA Finals.

Ready to enjoy the best Sacramento Kings betting odds? Don’t forget to register now to get started!

Sacramento Kings Famous Players and Hall of Famers

While Oscar Robertson won his NBA championship after his tenure with the Cincinnati Royals, the Big O enjoyed most of his success while playing in Cincinnati, where he played from 1960 to 1970, leading the Royals to several years of success. During his time in Cincinnati, Robertson also averaged a triple-double for the 1961-1962 season and also earned the league’s Most Valuable Player award in 1964. Robertson was also named an All-Star 12 times and made 11 All-NBA Teams. Robertson also led the league in assists six times, all coming with the Royals. Robertson leads the franchise in points scored (22,009) and assists (7,731) and ranks third in rebounds (6,380).

After Robertson’s departure from Cincinnati, Nate Archibald took over as the face of the franchise, playing with the Royals and later the Kansas City-Omaha Kings and Kansas City Kings from 1970 to 1976. Archibald would win an NBA championship later in his career with the Boston Celtics. However, he was still a standout during his time with the Royals and Kings, earning three of his six All-Star selections, and four of his five All-NBA Team nods during his time in Cincinnati and Kansas City. Archibald also led the league in scoring and assists in 1973.

Be sure to check out our Sacramento Kings betting odds, Hawks betting previews, and enjoy the best basketball odds at Betmania! Register now!

existing leagues
existing sports