Laurel Park is US thoroughbred race track just outside Laurel, Maryland, conveniently settled between Washington D.C. and Baltimore. The racecourse opened up in 1911, supervised by the Laurel Four County Fair. In 1918, Army engineers trained in the field before being deployed to France. In 1946, a stable fire broke out and a year later, the Maryland Jockey Club purchased Laurel Park.

Great changes befell Laurel Park from 1950 to 1984, which put its steadfastness to the test. It introduced the Washington, D.C. International at 1 ½ mile on turf. In 1953 Laurel opened a new clubhouse and a year later, it had another stable fire. Later, its turf course was lengthened from seven furlongs to one mile and the main track extended from one mile to 1-1/8 miles. In 1964, yet another stable fire, this time intentionally set by an arsonist, destroyed 34 horses. Three years later, another fire was set on two stables, which was fortunately appeased by the new sprinklers it had installed.

Laurel was awarded the summer racing dates in 1982; the track then installed air conditioning in both the grandstand and the clubhouse. Currently, it offers terrace dining, bars, and simulcast rooms. Some of the stakes races run at Laurel Park are Frank J. DeFrancis Memorial Dash Stakes, Barbara Fritchie Handicap, and General George Handicap, to name a few.

BETMANIA players can find Laurel Park Betting Odds on competing horses, including horse racing bet types such as Win/Place/Show, Exactas, Trifectas, Superfectas and many more. Visit our Racebook to learn more about the available bet options and other popular race tracks.

BETMANIA is your complete entertainment bundle. For immediate assistance please call 1-888-40-MANIA (62642), press #2 to speak to your Personal Account Manager, or, click on LIVE HELP.

Laurel Park Racetrack Facts:

  • Racecourse type: Flat American Thoroughbred
  • Location: Laurel, Maryland
  • Purse: N/A
  • Venue capacity: 700,000
  • Track length: 1-1/8 mile

Important track records: Sir Barton, War Admiral, Whirlaway, Secretariat, and Affirmed, all Triple Crown winners, won at Laurel Park during their Hall of Fame careers. Sandy Hawley became the first rider in history with 500 victories in a single season at Laurel Park (1973)