San Antonio Spurs
San Antonio Spurs

San Antonio Spurs

Get ready to enjoy the best San Antonio Spurs betting odds and live basketball betting action here at Betmania, your home for the best NBA betting experience online. Register now to receive amazing bonuses on your deposit and reloads.

San Antonio Spurs Team History

One of the four original ABA teams still in the NBA following the ABA-NBA merger, the San Antonio Spurs have been one of the most successful teams in the league, with the team boasting one of the highest winning percentages among active franchises. The team was founded as the Dallas Chaparrals of the American Basketball Association in 1967, but disinterest from the city of Dallas led the team to eventually move to San Antonio as the Gunslingers, though the name was changed to the Spurs before the team played a game. After the merger in 1976, the Spurs joined the Denver Nuggets, New York Nets and Indiana Pacers in the new NBA.

San Antonio Spurs Championships

The San Antonio Spurs have been one of the powerhouses in the NBA over the past two decades, winning five NBA championships from 1999 to 2014 and six conference titles during the same span. A perennial playoff contender under Gregg Popovich, the Spurs made their first NBA Finals in 1999 with a young Tim Duncan and a veteran David Robinson leading them to a 4-1 series victory over the New York Knicks. The team would return to the Finals in 2003, defeating the New Jersey Nets in six games. The Spurs would return once again two years later and win their third title in a seven-game series over the Detroit Pistons. The Spurs would win another title in 2007 with Tony Parker taking home the Finals MVP honors after sweeping LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers. The team would make it to the Finals in 2013, where they would fall to the Miami Heat but would return the following year for a rematch with the Heat, this time prevailing in five games.

Ready to enjoy the best San Antonio Spurs betting odds? Don’t forget to register now to get started!

San Antonio Spurs Famous Players and Hall of Famers

While he may not have been one of the flashiest players in NBA History, Tim Duncan was undoubtedly one of the best. A guaranteed lock for the Hall of Fame, Duncan spent his entire 19-year career playing for the San Antonio Spurs, leading them to all five of the franchise’s championships, winning Finals MVP honors three times. Duncan was selected as an NBA All-Star 15 times and was also named to 15 All-NBA Teams and 15 NBA All-Defensive Teams. Duncan leads the San Antonio Spurs in points scored with 26,496 and also holds several other records, including rebounds (15,091), blocks (3,020), and minutes played (47,386).

Known as “The Admiral,” David Robinson was another San Antonio Spurs mainstay, playing with the team for his entire career from 1989 to 2003. Robinson was part of two of the Spurs’ NBA championships. Named the NBA Most Valuable Player in 1995, Robinson was named an NBA All-Star 10 times and made 10 All-NBA Teams. Known for his all-around game, Robinson was named NBA Defensive Player of the Year in 1992 and made eight NBA All-Defensive Teams and led the league in scoring (1994), rebounding (1991) and blocks (1992).

Be sure to check out our San Antonio Spurs betting odds, Hawks betting previews, and enjoy the best basketball odds at Betmania! Register now!

existing leagues
existing sports